I’m Back! Post.

Sorry I haven’t been posting! I’d been busy transforming my room into a beach hut. This will be a long post to make up for it πŸ™‚

Speaking of beaches, I love the sea and anything associated with it – I love shark movies, I have 6 pet puffer fishes, I have starfishes & seashells hung up on my walls and sand shadowboxes on my shelves. I love the whole theme and the idea of it, and I especially love minty seafoam colours. So when Milani Dressmaker came in the mail (a supposed dupe of Chanel Jade) I was soo excited because the shade of green is just to die…!Β So let’s look at the minty colours πŸ™‚

Clockwise from index: Milani Dressmaker; Essie Turquoise & Caicos; Essie Mint Candy Apple; OPI Damone Roberts 1968; Sephora by OPI Read My Palm

Milani Dressmaker is a brilliant mint green with very light and slight green shimmer. It almost disappears after the polish dries, you have to flash your nails under a light to see it again. Looking at all these fabulous colours I just feel totally relaxed.

I LOVE Read My Palm – until now, I didn’t know that it’s actually pretty close to Essie Turquoise & Caicos, except RMP is a little bit greener. If I had to pick a favourite… sigh I don’t know πŸ™‚

Next up, I have comparison swatches for DS Coronation and Milani HD:

This is with some sunlight. Index + Ring + Thumb; Milani HD. Middle + Pinky; OPI DS Coronation.

I would say they both look very similar in the first instance – they both look like dupes in the bottle, however upon application, Coronation has more uniformly sized glitter, while Milani has different sized holo flecks in it, so it shines much brighter than Coronation. I think you can see the difference in effect on my thumb nail.

This is under a table lamp. After about 4 days of wear, Milani chipped like cray-zeeeeee and Coronation only showed signs of tip wear. *shrugs*

In my Milani haul, I also bought a Deborah Lippmann Happy Birthday dupe – Milani Gems:

I don’t have the original to compare (yet) but Gems has a clear base with hex glitter of 2 sizes. Colours of the glitter include silver, green, red, light blue, gold, and a few pinks. This is ONE LAYER!!! over OPI Black Onyx with some sunlight.

In love with this one!

I also swatched an OPI oldie – Midnight Blue Glitter:

This is one coat over OPI Black Onyx under my table lamp

This is with some sunlight

A much closer picture – Midnight Blue Glitter has a black jelly base with silver micro glitter, as well as round blue and turquoise glitter. It’s like watching the waters over a moonlit night, and the stars shining with the moon.

Stars would be shining like this:

This is a blurred picture of Nubar Night Sparkles. Dreamy.

Nubar Night Sparkles is a deep blue (much darker than in this picture) glitter. It has a dark blue jelly base with blue glitter, and because it has a jelly base, you can create a very 3D look because the glitter still shines through no matter how many coats you apply. This was two coats, and it dries really gritty so you would need a thick layer of Seche Vite or Posche to top it off. Pictured without top coat, so the grittiness sort of affected the shininess of the glitter, but it’s still really pretty πŸ™‚

My camera can’t seem to capture the awesomeness of the glitter, but I wanted to share this polish with you cos it’s the closest I’m ever gonna get to Essie Starry Starry Night. Sigh!

This entry was posted in Essie, Milani, Nubar, OPI, Sephora by OPI and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m Back! Post.

  1. Shona says:

    great swatches! πŸ˜‰
    AND you need to tell me where to purchase Nubar! I’d love to own those flakies!

Leave a Reply

